About Us

عن كلية الغابات
أنشئت كلية الغابات في عام 1975 كقسم في كلية الزراعة بمجمع شمبات-جامعة الخرطوم. في عام 1993 تم ترفيع القسم ليصبح كلية الغابات. بكلية الغابات أربعة أقسام هي قسم الإدارة الفنية للغابات وقسم فلاحة الغابات وقسم منجات وصناعات الغابات. في عام 2010 تم إنشاء وحدتين إضافيتين هما وحدة التدريب والمعلومات ووحدة المشتل والتشجير.

الموقع الجغرافي للكلية
تقع كلية الغابات في مجمع شمبات-الخرطوم بحري.

هيئة التدريس ومساعدوهم
العدد الحالي لآساتذة كلية الغابات من حملة درجة الأستاذية 5 وعدد الأساتذة المشاركين 6 وعدد الأساتذة المساعدين 7 وعدد المحاضرين 14، أما عدد مساعدي التدريس فيبلغ 11 مساعد تدريس. هنالك عدد من المحاضرين ومساعدي التدريس في بعثات دراسية داخل وخارج السودان لنيل درجة الدكتوراه أو الماجستير.

الطلاب
يدرس بكلية الغابات حاليا (العام الدراسي 2011-2012) 371 طالبا، حوالي ثلث هذا العدد من الذكور وثلثاه من الإناث. يزيد عدد طلاب الماجستير المسجلين بالكلية عن 50 طالبا وطالبة، أما عدد طلاب الدكتوراه فيبلغ عددهم ثمانية طلاب.

معامل الكلية
توجد بكلية الغابات أربعة معامل، معمل بكل قسم. يسع كل معمل حوالي 60 طالبا. يستخدم المعامل طلاب البكالريوس بكلية الغابات كما يستخدمها طلاب الدراسات العليا وأعضاء ومساعدو هيئة التدريس بالكلية. توجد بالكلية وحدة للمساحة والاستشعار عن بعد تخدم قسم الإدارة الفنية للغابات لتدريس علوم قياسات الأشجار والمساحة والحصر الغابي والاستشعار عن بعد. يوجد أيضا معمل حاسوب بوحدة التدريب والمعلومات يستخدم لتنفيذ مختلف الدورات التدريبية التي تنظمها كلية الغابات اسهاما منها في خدمة المجتمع. يوجد بالكلية أيضا ثلاث غرف كبيرة مخصصة لطلاب الدراسات العليا، بكل غرفة ستة حواسيب كما يوجد كيبل توصيل بشبكة الإنترنت لكل جهاز حاسوب.

المكتبة
لكلية الغابات مكتبة خاصة بها تسع حوالي 60 طالبا وطالبة. بالإضافة للمكتبة التقليدية تستعد كلية الغابات لتجهيز مكتبة إليكترونية-مكتبة الدكتورة هدى الشعراوي-التي كانت من أعضاء هيئة التدريس بكلية الغابات حتى وافاها الأجل في العام 2010. تبلغ سعة المكتبة الإليكترونية20 طالبا وطالبة. توجد مكتبة رئيسة بمجمع شمبات تخدم كل كليات ومعاهد ومراكز المجمع ويمكن لطلاب كلية الغابات استخدامها. توجد بمختلف هذه المكتبات مراجع متخصصة ودوريات محلية وعالمية وأطروحات طلاب الدراسات العليا المجازة ومواد أخرى كثيرة تفيد طلاب البكالريوس وطلاب الدراسات العليا في التحصيل والبحث العلمي.

النشاط البحثي
تتيح كلية الغابات فرص البحث العلمي والدراسات في مختلف مجالات علوم الغابات في أقسامها الأربعة. تصمم الأنشطة البحثية لحلحلة المشاكل التي تواجه العاملين في المجال سواء في إدارة الموارد الغابية (عبر قسمي الإدارة الفنية للغابات والفلاحة) أو الإنتاج وصناعات الغابات (عبر قسمي منتجات وصناعات الغابات والإدارة الفنية للغابات) أو حماية ووقاية الغابات عبر قسم وقاية وحماية الغابات. تجرى الأنشطة البحثية في مختلف المناطق الجغرافية بالسودان الأمر الذي يكسب الأبحاث الغابية تنوعا فريدا. تنشر نتائج كثير من الأنشطة البحثية التي تقوم بها كلية الغابات في دوريات علمية تخصصية محكمة داخل السودان (مثل مجلة جامعة الخرطوم للعلوم الزراعية و سودان سيلفا) وخارج السودان (إقليميا وعالميا). تبذل كل أقسام كلية الغابات جهدا مقدرا للتنسيق والتعاون مع مختلف المؤسسات الشبيهة وذات الصلة : الحكومية والأهلية والطوعية من أجل تطوير البحث العلمي في مجال علوم الغابات والمجالات ذات الصلة والسعي للحصول على تمويل للأنشطة البحثية، خصوصا التطبيقي منها.

العلاقات الثقافية
لكلية الغابات علاقات جيدة مع معظم كليات وأقسام الغابات والمجالات ذات الصلة بمؤسسات التعليم العالي السودانية، مثل كليات الغابات والعلوم والموارد الطبيعية والعلوم الزراعية. يساهم عدد مقدر من أعضاء هيئة التدريس بكلية الغابات في العملية التدريسية في بعض الكليات التي ذكرت آنفا. يوجد عدد من أعضاء هيئة التدريس بالكلية في إعارة أو انتداب، بعضهم داخل السودان والبعض الآخر في دول عربية وإفريقية. يوجد أيضا عددا من المحاضرين ومساعدو التدريس الذين يعملون على نيل درجات عليا في جامعات أوربية وأمريكية وآسيوية. تربط كلية الغابات علاقات مميزة ببعض الجامعات الأوربية مثل جامعة هلسنكي بفنلندا وجامعة درسدن بألمانيا.

خدمة المجتمع
تقدم هيئة التدريس بكلية الغابات سمنارات وورش عمل ودورات تدريبية متنوعة بالتنسيق مع مؤسسات أخرى، منها الحكومي ومنها الأهلي بالإضافة لمؤسسات المجتمع المدني والمنظمات غير الحكومية والأفراد. يعمل أعضاء هيئة التدريس والطلاب على توعية المجتمعات بأهمية الغطاء الشجري وضرورة حمايته والإهتمام به. استشعارا من كلية الغابات بأهمية دورها في خدمة المجتمع فقد أنشأت وحدة التدريب والمعلومات التي تصمم وتنفذ دورات تدريبية في مختلف مجالات علوم الغابات والمجالات ذات الصلة وقد حققت الوحدة نجاحات مقدرة خلال العام الأول الذي مر على إنشائها. في نفس الوقت أنشأت كلية الغابات وحدة المشتل والتشجير، حيث ألحق مشتل الكلية إلى هذه الوحدة بعد إعادة تأهيله وتوسعته وعمل الكثير من المنشآت التابعة له. تهدف هذه الوحدة إلى إنتاج شتول مختلف أنواع الأشجار والزهور ونباتات الزينة لتباع للجمهور بأسعار معقولة تشجيعا لهم على زيادة المساحات الخضراء داخل وحول البيئات التي يعيشون أو يعملون فيها. عبر وحدة المشتل والتشجير بدأت كلية الغابات في تنفيذ عمليات تشجير واسعة النطاق غطت كل أراضي جامعة الخرطوم بمنطقة سوبا وفي انتظارها أعمال أخرى في مزرعة جامعة الخرطوم وغرب أمدرمان وأرض قسم الآثار جامعة الخرطوم بالبجراوية. لم يقتصر عمل وحدة المشتل والتشجير على تنفيذ عمليات زراعة ورعاية الأشجار فحسب، بل امتد نشاطها ليشمل تصميم وتنفيذ مساحات خضراء بداية بميادين كلية الغابات ثم ميادين إدارة جامعة الخرطوم (مكتب وكيل الجامعة) ثم ميداني قاعة ودعة بمعهد الدراسات الإفريقية والآسيوية التابع لجامعة الخرطوم. تم أيضا تنفيذ ميدانين بقسم اللغويات التابع لكلية الآداب وهنالك الكثير من الطلبات المقدمة من عدد من كليات وأقسام ووحدات جامعة الخرطوم لتصميم وتنفيذ مساحات خضراء في ميادينها.

About Us

About the Faculty of Forestry

The Faculty of forestry (FOF) was established in the year 1975, as a forestry department in the faculty of agriculture at Shambat University Campus. In 1993, the department was transformed into a full- fledged faculty. The Faculty has four departments: Forest Management, Silviculture, Forest Products and Industries and Forest Protection and Conservation. Last year, two more units were established, namely Training and Information Unit (TIU) and Nursery and Forestation Unit (NFU).

Location
The FOF is in Shambat campus, that is located in Khartoum North.
Academic staff and teaching assistants
Currently the FOF staff includes 5 professors, 6 associate professors, 7 assistant professors, 14 lecturers and 11 teaching assistants. A number of lecturers and Teaching Assistants are currently pursuing their training locally or abroad for M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees.

Students
The Faculty currently enrolls 371 B. Sc. Students, two thirds of which are males and the rest are females. The number of students who are registered for M.Sc. exceeds 50 and those registered for Ph.D. are 8.

Laboratories
There are four specialized laboratories in the Faculty, a laboratory for each department. Each laboratory accommodates about (60) students. The laboratories are used by the B.Sc. students, graduate students and members of the teaching staff. There is also one surveying and remote sensing unit which serves the department of Forest Management. The TIU has a computer laboratory which is used for training courses arranged by the FOF as a contribution in community service. There are also three post-graduate rooms, each of which is equipped with 6 computers and internet connectivity.


The Library
The FOF has its own library which can accommodate about 60 students at a time. In addition to the traditional library the FOF is preparing for an electronic library-Huda Sharawi Library- named after the late Dr. Huda Sharawi who was a staff member of this faculty. The electronic library can accommodate 20 students at a time. Shambat library, the main library in Shambat Campus, is also accessible to the FOF students. It contains a lot of specialized books, periodicals, dissertations and other relevant material.


Research Activities
The Faculty of Forestry presents research opportunities and studies in the various fields of forestry in its four departments. Those research activities are designed to meet the needs and solve the problems that faced both the production and industrial forest sectors. Some of the research is conducted at the various geographical sites. These researches and studies are usually published in the University of Khartoum Journal of Agriculture Sciences (UKJAS), Sudan Silva and in some International and Regional Journals and Periodicals. All the Departments of the FOF exert their efforts to coordinate and cooperate with other related institutions, private and governmental sectors, in order to find finance for their applied researches.


Cultural Relations
The Faculty of Forestry has good relations with most of the faculties of Forestry, Science, Natural Resources and Agricultural Sciences in Sudan. Many members of the teaching staff undertake teaching and supervision for the students of the above mentioned faculties in the U of K and in other Universities. Some members of the teaching staff are on secondment to some universities in Arab and African countries and others are doing their postgraduate studies at similar or relevant faculties in Europe, USA and Japan. The FOF has Agreements with some European universities; examples are the University of Helsinki in Finland and TU Dresden in Germany.


Public Services Offered by the Faculty
The Faculty staff is involved in activities (Seminars, Workshops and Planning) in collaboration with other Government Agencies in various fields of forestry. The faculty staff and students are also involved in extension services to the different communities whose activities are related to forestry. The Training and Information Unit (TIU) organizes training courses in forestry and related fields as a contribution from the FOF in community service. The Forestation and Nursery Unit (FNU) supplies the community with tree seedlings, ornamental and flowering plants, which are produced in the FOF nursery in large quantities and sold thereafter to the community for reasonable prices to encourage them increase green areas in their living or working territories. It also supplies the community with extension services related to tree planting, irrigation and protection. The FNU designed and implemented some forestation programs in the U of K lands in Soba are, Khartoum State. Rows of some selected forest trees were planted around each of five land pieces owned by the U of K. The trial was a real challenge to the FOF, but the outcome was excellent and the U of K Higher Administration was surprised by the success; and encouraged the FOF to carry out similar activities in the other areas owned by the U of K: especially those which are remote and threatened by invaders from neighboring villages. The activities of the community service of the FOF was not confined to tree planting only, but it extended to cover other areas, namely designing and implementing green areas. It started with its own squares at the FOF and extended afterwards to cover the squares of the U of K Administration (the U of K Principal's Office), Wadaa Hall squares and the squares of the Department of Linguistics' . The FOF received requests from many faculties, departments and units of the U of K to design and implement green areas in their squares.